My Reflections on Motherhood

 My Reflections on Motherhood

“The most important thing she’d learned over the years was that there was no way to be a perfect mother and a million ways to be a good one.”   — Jill Churchill

The most important part of who I am today is who I am as a mother and a wife.  So far, my most fulfilling and challenging job in my life has been raising our three boys.  I have been doing this for seven and a half years.  There have been many days I wished there was a workplace for me to go to and many more days that I am thankful for the wonderful husband I have who brings home the bacon so I can stay home full-time with our children!

One of my main goals is to help our boys to grow up to be loving, kind, gentle, considerate, compassionate, respectful, Christian, healthy, hardworking, confident and intelligent men.  Just like their Papa and their uncles!

My many ongoing tasks that take a lot of my energy:  we cook, eat, play, read, and work around the house/garden/farm.  I try to keep them safe and happy; while teaching them to be responsible, to make good choices, and to think before they speak and/or act.   Oh yes, how could I forget I do teach them manners!  If you have been around us you may not believe this.  Why do manners seem difficult for boys to learn?  Some days the constant talk of poop, toots, and burps make me want to pull out my hair.

When there are three boys in one house with different interests and attention spans it is difficult to keep up with all the activities, so things get a little trashed around here at times.  And it feels as though I am not getting anything accomplished.  My escape is to take them outside to ski or go to the beach or work in the garden.

Although mothering is an incredible job that I take seriously and in order for me to be the best mother I also have to remember who I am as a person, click here to see my post titled “I am…”

I have an ongoing conversation with one of my dear friends about how to be the best mom that we can be.  We have come to the conclusion that we are who we are because:  our own mother, our role models, experiences as a child, the books we have read, our friends who are also mothers and last but not least the lessons we have learned from our own mothering.

We have to accept that we are doing our best.  We have to trust that our children will take what we have taught them and make the right choices.  They may not always make the right choices and that is okay, too, because they will learn from their mistakes.   Part of being a good mom is allowing our children to make mistakes and not expect them to be perfect!  In return I hope that our children will grow up to be the best adults and parents they can be.

When I was in college my Dad told me once that one of my purposes in life was to do a better job in this world than my parents.  I have taken this very seriously in all areas of my life.  I also had very big shoes to fill.

I have an amazing mother who raised six children, five of whom are loving, kind, gentle, considerate, compassionate, respectful, hardworking, intelligent, and successful in all areas of their life.

I have the best step-mother in the world.  She loves my Dad and has always shown love, support, kindness and understanding to the three of us kids, even when we didn’t return that love.

I have an incredible mother-in-law besides the fact that she is the reason my husband is on this earth, she raised him to be a wonderful man and a great father to our boys.   She has helped me understand many things about marriage, communication, forgiveness, patience and peaceful parenting.

Mothering is a difficult job, whether you are a stay-at-home mom or a mom who works outside of your home part-time or full-time.  We do the best we can with the resources we have.   I believe it is important to have a circle of moms who love, support and respect us for the mothering we do!

Thank you to all the moms in my life!

I hope you have a wonderful Mother’s Day!

Added on October 25, 2012 when I found this quote: 

“God intended motherhood to be a relay race. Each generation would pass the baton on to the next.” ~Mary Pride

Added September 4, 2013 when I found this awesome blog post, titled, “Moms, When are you going to learn?  I’m not super mom. ”  Definitely worth reading!

http://www.sowonderfulsomarvelous.com/2013/06/moms-when-are-you-going-to-learn.html

12 responses

  1. Wow, Jenny, you made a bunch of us moms feel good! Thanks for the kind words. I’ve been thinking the last few days of what a able, wise, loving mom you are, and how lucky we are to be able to relax and know that our grandhildren are getting the best anyone could give. Raising children is not an easy job, but you are doing it wonderfully well. Thanks. We love you.

  2. Jenny:
    Besides being an awesome mom to 3 wonderful boys, you are a very good writer and i am so blessed to have you as my friend. Keep doing what you are doing, it WORKS!

  3. Lila,
    I am blessed with your friendship! You are one of my special friends who seems to understand my struggles and happiness with three boys. Thank you for your kind words.
    Jenny

  4. How well I remember the questions I asked myself when raising my two. I never lived close enough to Mother or my mother-in-law to get much advice from them. Telephone calls were expensive and we only returned to the UK every two years. So my friends, their mothers and my older friends were my guides.
    Keep doing what you are doing. Know that your love for the boys will mean that you are doing the right things. And if just occasionally one of those things turns out not to be right, remember we are all human and are allowed the occasional mistake.
    But I missed the photos.
    Judith

  5. Excellent Mother’s Day post Jenny! I can really identify with the busy time you are having. As Moms, we float high on the good times, and somehow persevere through the difficult times. We really do rely on our gut instinct alot, and I think we’re usually right.
    And don’t beat yourself up too much if you miss a few of your boy’s things (soccer post.) Jack and I certainly didn’t make it to every single game, concert, etc. With three kids sometimes it’s dang near impossible for that to happen, but I also think it’s healthy for kids to see that you do have a life outside of their world. HMD!! OOOXXX

  6. Beautifully put! You sound like you are the very best Mom you can be! I think that’s all that matters. The love you have for your children is obvious, and your instincts help that love flourish. Also seems like you are pretty aware & alert, a “conscious parent” so-to-speak. Happy Mother’s Day to you!

    (& I find it rather interesting that our posts parallel eachother from time to time…very fun!)

    • Thanks for reading my post! I get the same vibes from you and your posts. That you are a pretty awesome Mama to your two sweet little angels! It is fun that we found each other in the blogging world. I am always excited to read your latest posts.

  7. My wife stays at home too and takes care of my 5 year old …and me! It’s one of the hardest job around. It’s a 24 seven thing and moms don’t even get a bonus pay for that. But moms do it because of the unconditional love they have for their family. So on behalf of all the husbands, I thank you, my wife and all the moms out there, what you do, we can never repay, but we would like you to know that we appreciate what you do for us each and everyday. You husband and 3 boys are so lucky to have you on their side. Congrats for being a great mom/wife for your family. stay blessed.

    • Thank you for your kind words! I feel very strongly about raising our boys so they can become great men and I couldn’t do this without a great papa in our house. I bet your wife feels the same way about you!

I would love to hear what you think, please feel free to leave a comment.