My Favorite Books – 9/15/13

I love to read and talk about books with people.  I started a book club about 14 years ago to hang out with friends, open my eyes to new authors and to talk about books.  

I have linked each book on my lists below (yes, there is more than one list) to Amazon.com in case you would like to look at the book yourself.  I wouldn’t recommend purchasing any of these books, just check them out from your local library!

Favorite Non-Fiction:

Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver (I listened to this on CD)

The Things They Carried by Tim O’Brien (I listened to this on CD)

Lucky Man: A Memoir by Michael J. Fox (I listened to this on CD)

The Middle Place by Kelly Corrigan (I listened to this on CD)

A Slave No More : Two Men Who Escaped to Freedom: Including Their Own Narratives of Emancipation by David W. Blight

Flags of Our Fathers by James Bradley and Ron Powers

The Hiding Place by Corrie ten Boom

Favorite Fiction:

Prodigal Summer: A Novel by Barbara Kingsolver (I listened to this on CD – twice! Beautiful book! My number one favorite book)

Giants in the Earth : A Saga of the Prairie by O.E. Rölvaag ; translated from the Norwegian by Lincoln Colcord & the author

The Noticer: Sometimes, all a person needs is a little perspective. by Andy Andrews

Christmas Jars by Jason F. Wright

Year of Wonders : A Novel of the Plague by Geraldine Brooks

Skeletons at the Feast: A Novel by Chris Bohjalian

For One More Day by Mitch Albom

A Lineage of Grace: Five Stories of Unlikely Women Who Changed Eternity by Francine Rivers

Mark of the Lion : A Voice in the Wind, An Echo in the Darkness, As Sure As the Dawn (Vol 1-3) by Francine Rivers

Favorite authors:  Barbara Kingsolver, Francine Rivers,  Mitch Albom, & Chris Bohjalian – I could read any book written by these authors and love it.

Favorite Birth and Midwifery books:

The midwife of Hope River:  A novel of an American Midwife by Patricia Harman

The Birth House: A Novel by Ami McKay

Birth Matters: A Midwife’s Manifesta by Ina May Gaskin

Ina May’s Guide to Childbirth by Ina May Gaskin

Monique and the Mango Rains: Two Years with a Midwife in Mali by Kris Holloway; Consulting Editor John Bidwell

The Amish Midwife by Mindy Starns Clark

A Midwife’s Story by Penny Armstrong and Sheryl Feldman

Parenting books:

Screamfree Parenting: The Revolutionary Approach to Raising Your Kids Without Losing Your Cool by Hal Edward Runkel (I listened to this on CD)

Free-Range Kids, How to Raise Safe, Self-Reliant Children (Without Going Nuts with Worry) by Lenore Skenazy

 Attachment Parenting: Instinctive Care for Your Baby and Young Child  by Katie Allison Granju, Betsy Kennedy, & William Sears

How to Talk So Kids Will Listen & Listen So Kids Will Talk by Adele Faber, and Elaine Mazlish

Currently I am reading:

The Animorphs #2 The Visitor by K.A. Applegate

Slammed: A Novel by Colleen Hoover

Master Your Metabolism by Jillian Michaels

I would love to hear your favorites, what  you’re reading and who is your favorite author! 

14 responses

  1. Pingback: My Favorite Children’s Books | My Blog

  2. Oh my, I think I just added another dozen books to my to be read list!

    Since all the books on your list that I have read I’ve loved, I think I need to read the rest!

    My favorite authors… Kingsolver, Tracy Chevalie, Diana Gabaldon, Joanne Harris, Rebecca Wells, Philippa Gregory… yea I’m not good at narrowing it down!

    Currently I’m reading The Wise Man’s Fear by Patrick Rothfuss and I MUST go read it now, because if I don’t start reading tonight until midnight I may never sleep! And we should probably add him to my favorite author list…

    So much more I want to say, like comment on every book on your list I have read but I really must go find out what happens to Kvothe, did I mention you should read Name of the Wind???

    Here is the link to all the mini reviews I’ve done:
    http://behindthewillows.wordpress.com/the-books-behind-the-willows/

    I’m excited to hear what others are reading and love as well!

    • I won’t tell you how long it took me to come up with this list. I wanted to add more and make comments about every book. I am horrible at narrowing these kinds of lists down!
      Thanks for including your link to the mini reviews you have done. I love your reviews!
      Please tell me you have read Prodigal Summer!

      • I have read Prodigal Summer it’s one of my favorites as well! It would take me forever to come up with a list like that, the hardest part for me with the mini reviews is keeping them mini!

  3. Hi again Jenny from the other side of the world. Love your list and have of course added several to mine. Have Prodigal Summer on reserve at the library, but as I have six books out at the moment I hope they take a few days to advise that it is available.

  4. Ahhhh…to be able to leisurely read! There aren’t too many days left until my children won’t need my undivided attention & I can cuddle up with a great book…right?! Another fantastic list. Ina May is my “BFF”, I love Spiritual Midwifery as well as her Guide (also have her Guide to Breastfeeding which is a great resource). She is phenomenal. Can you tell I only read pregnancy/childbirth/parenting books these days??

    I appreciate your parenting book references as well, haven’t heard of some of those & am beginning to fully trust your judgement! It’s funny how much you can get along with a person solely from blogging…loving your posts!

    The well-organized list you have above is inspiring. Most of my spare time is spent knitting and playing piano. I’ve forgotten how much I love to read books – for myself! Enveloped in children’s literature & the parenting books for so long now! How funny/sad/good at the same time!!?

    Definitely looking into these books!

    • It is good to read those books for where you are in your life now. Soon you should be able to sneak in a chapter or two of some adult reading. Start with a short one like Christmas Jars or The Noticer. I could look at my list for other quick easy reads for a busy Mama.

  5. Jenny, just finished ‘The Lacuna’ by Kingsolver, excellent! She is one of my favorites too! Almost done with ‘Shanghai Girls’ by Lisa See. I’m loving it. Thanks for your great list!

    • Thanks Corky for checking my list out. I will need to check out those two books. I always love to hear what you are reading and what you think are good books. I have always enjoyed your recomendations!

  6. I am a HUGE fan of local libraries. I have been blessed to live in the Mesa County, Pikes Peak and Scott County Public Library districts in Colorado and Iowa, libraries with some of the best interlibrary loan systems in the country. Ah, the good old days – I now live in a VERY small community in South East New Mexico and while our library does have an interlibrary loan operation, I must say I have been incredibly spoiled. I am working on making the transition into this new system. In the mean time, I have combed the recesses of memory to think of some of my most favorite books and authors. I looking forward to reading those books I see listed above – just hope my library can get them here before Christmas – with luck! All of my titles are available on Amazon.com, though I don’t know how to link them in. Search by the author’s name and you should be able to find them.

    Fiction (most of them will be in this category)

    Diana Gabaldon
    The Outlander Series
    Outlander
    Dragonfly in Amber
    Voyager
    Drums of Autumn
    The Fiery Cross
    A Breath of Snow and Ashes
    An Echo in the Bone
    Steven Saylor
    Roma and Empire – a history of the fist and fall of Rome, told by following a family heirloom from the days before it was even a trading post on the shores of a river until wolves roamed the streets.
    Tom Clancy – I know, all kinds of tech-y stuff, but I love the stories in the following titles
    Without Remorse
    The Cardinal in The Kremlin
    Debt of Honor
    Executive Orders
    Rainbow Six
    The Bear and The Dragon
    Red Storm Rising (not part of the above story line, but an interesting idea)
    Clive Cussler – though they can get a little formulaic, they are still a good read
    Janet Evonovich – The Stephaine Plum mysteries
    Sue Grafton – the Alphabet mysteries
    Lois Lowry – The Giver – still an awesome story after all these years
    Christopher Moore – MY ALL TIME FAVORITE AUTHOR – I recommend reading in the following order
    Lamb – the Gospel according to Christ’s childhood pal, Biff
    This is the story of the missing 30 years, what the Gospels don’t tell. It is secular, satirical, full of blasphemy, and will most likely get me at least a century or two in purgatory – but I’ve never found any more pure illustration of the Love that Christ personified.
    A Dirty Job
    Fluke
    Fool
    Blooksucking Fiends
    You Suck!
    Bite Me!
    Island of the Sequined Love Nun
    The Lust Lizard of Melancholy Cove
    The Stupidest Angel
    Roald Dahl
    Everything from Charlie and the Chocolate Factory to his autobiographies Boy and Solo. Everything of his.
    Sharon Kay Penman

    Non Fiction

    Karen Armstrong
    The History of God
    The Battle for God
    Wayne Dyer
    Change Your Thoughts, Change Your Life

    • Rebecca so many of your favorites are also mine that I’m going to have to check into a few of the ones I don’t know. Starting with Roma, that one sounds fascinating! Thanks for sharing your favorites!

    • Rebecca, this list is great. Thank you for sharing. Jessie added a link to her blog in her comment above. Otherwise I think you should be able to click on her name to get there.
      Jenny

  7. Pingback: You Inspired Me…To Read! « jeanne's blog…a nola girl at heart

  8. Pingback: Mama’s favorites – September 2013 | life with three boys and a splash of purple!

I would love to hear what you think, please feel free to leave a comment.

