Henry’s Pumpkin

On Monday, Henry came home from school with his pumpkin from the field trip he went on that morning. He was very eager to carve it. I asked him to wait until the other boys have pumpkins and we can do them all together. He was not interested.

I didn’t really care that he wasn’t listening to my idea or want to discuss it any further because in the next 45 minutes we had to make and eat dinner, clean up and do homework in order to leave the house for flag football. I had an over tired 2-year-old who was sporadically crying over everything, one boy doing homework and I am not sure what the other boy was doing, maybe running around outside bare footed in 45 degrees and very windy!

Henry's pumpkin

Henry:  I bet my friends haven’t cut their pumpkins out yet.

My response:  You are right because their moms probably didn’t let them.

Henry:  I bet Landon’s mom did, because she is REALLY nice!

It was all fine and wonderful until…

He cut the top all the way around and it fell inside the pumpkin = tears. I kissed him and helped him get the top out.

He continued to carve the eyes, and then the mouth wasn’t working like he envisioned = tears. I suggested he draw the mouth on the pumpkin with a marker so he could follow the lines.

The whole face of his pumpkin caved in = sobbing, serious tears and almost inconsolable.

Henry's pumpkin no face

I am a mean mom because I was kind of laughing inside, considered taking a photo of him crying with the pile of pumpkin chunks on the table and wanted to suggest we throw the stupid pumpkin to the chickens.  Instead, I hunted for a little candle (relieved that I actually had one and found it within seconds), I carved a heart on the back side and showed him how pretty the heart glows. And promised I will buy him another pumpkin when we get pumpkins for the big boys.

Henry's pumpkin glowing

9 responses

  1. I love how you shared all the emotions that both of you were feeling. I can certainly relate to those when my kids were little and sometimes you just had to let them do what they wanted cause it wasn’t worth the arguing. Anita

  2. Ahhh, reminds me so much of a five year old that I live with. You handled it very well. I always let Iz do her own thing as I know she’s struggling for independence and responsibility but some times it’s hard because I know that it may end up in tears.

  3. Poor Henry. Jenny, you handled that perfectly! Thanks for taking the time to share and post these moments in life. They’re precious. Love, Mom

  4. Pingback: October 2014 | life with three boys and a splash of purple!

I would love to hear what you think, please feel free to leave a comment.

