Snowshoeing and Babywearing

Snowshoeing and Babywearing

I am having a great winter with a lot of snow and good conditions for the snow to stay for snowshoeing and skiing.   I am not cross-country skiing as much as I like.  My mother-in-law, Grandma Hanna, inspired me to snowshoe as much as I can, she has snowshoed every day this winter.  I have a great little trail system tramped down around our 20 acres.

This morning I got my baby ready to go outside in 31 degrees.  On the bottom she is wearing tights, corduroy pants, my smart wool socks (thanks Grandma Hanna), winter boots and baby legs to keep her boots on while I carry her.  On the top she has a long sleeve cotton onesie, a wool sweater and a second sweater with a hood that stays on very well, a wool cowl, and mittens.  And I can’t forget to mention my Light Rainbow Wrap, size 7!

snow shoe Nola Mae ready   snow shoe unwrapped

I was wearing one layer of pants, wool socks, and boots, a tank top, a long sleeve neoprene shirt, a wool sweater and a 21 month old toddler.  I was too hot!

snow shoe wrap light rainbow double hammock

I was on a mission:  shovel out the mailbox, shovel the steps and sidewalk, exercise the dogs and myself and find the snowshoe Robbie lost last night on our night-time snowshoe outing.

snow shoe selfie 1 wrap light rainbow

I was surprised how quickly Chili can disappear in the snow.

show shoe Chili 1 snow shoe chili 2 snow shoe chili 3 snow shoe chili 4

Nola Mae was still awake and watching the dogs whip past us and almost trip us for the twentieth time.

    snow shoe selfie 2 wrap light rainbow

Half way home and she was out!

snow shoe selfie 3 wrap light rainbow  snow shoe nap wrap light rainbow

Last night we went out snowshoeing when it was dark.  It was hard to see my established trail because we also got six inches of snow.    Sometimes when I stepped off my established trail I would sink all the way down to my knees.  When we got back to the garage Robbie realized he only had one snow shoe to take off.  He was tired and frustrated.  When I asked him where and when he thought he lost it.  He had no clue and said, “That is why I was always sinking in!  That is why I hate snowshoeing!”   We weren’t going to get more snow over night so I decided to wait until today to go look for it.  I found Robbie’s snowshoe, right at the edge of our yard about twenty feet away from where he took off his only snowshoe.

snow shoe found

I have to include this photo of Henry.  I found it on the camera.  He is the person that taught me the term “selfie” and I would say he is pretty good at taking them.

Henry selfie

Henry is at school today.  Nola Mae and I miss this sweet boy.  She has been calling for him around the house all day.

11 responses

  1. Jenny, doesn’t keeping your trail system visible and in-shape through snowfalls get to be almost addictive? I’m always wanting to make some new trail every day (today with the warmer temperature and heavier snow, I got pretty sweaty breaking new trail). With daily additions to the trail system, I now have much more trail then I can cover each day. Deer are using my trails, though, and they seem to get on every part of them. Today I went to extend a new trail I had started yesterday. Yesterday when the deep snow wore me out, I stopped with a dead end, and came back on my same trail. Today I found that at least four deer had taken the trail, and just beyond the dead end, I found four deer beds in the spruce trees. When they moved on, they made new trail, and I followed it and made a long loop back toward the yard (the trail they break doesn’t help me much!) This was the warmest day of the winter. You are getting major exercise wearing Nola Mae as you hike! Good going!

    • It is a little addicting. For a few days I was making new trails every time, but it is a lot of work because my trail has to be three snowshoes wide for pulling the sled. And it is hard to break a new trail when Nola Mae is in the sled. I have to leave her and go back and forth. If the sled stops there is a chance that she will wake up.

  2. I love this post, Jenny! The picture of Nola Mae sleeping on the walk is so precious and Henry’s “selfie” is great!!! He told us at school today that he went snowshoeing last night 🙂

  3. Pingback: February 2014 | life with three boys and a splash of purple!

I would love to hear what you think, please feel free to leave a comment.

