Cross-Country Skiing with Kids

Jack and I moved to Iola in the spring of 1998.   We discovered Iola’s hidden treasure that following winter – Iola Winter Sports Club!  I spent many hours enjoying the cross-country trails over the years and in 2008 decided to give back to the community and share my love of skiing.

I started leading Iola Winter Sports Club’s Youth Ski Program in 2008.  The kids love coming out on Saturday mornings and learning the basics of cross-country skiing and then using those new learned skills on the trails.   It is my love of skiing that comes through in my lessons with the kids.  I hope to share that love as I encourage them to keep practicing cross-country skiing skills and have fun while enjoying the outdoors.

I fell in love with skiing when I had cross-country skiing in 7th grade Physical Ed. class.  My first pair of skis was a birthday present from my Grandma Nola, and I still ski on them 30+ years later.  Ever since learning to cross-country ski, I think about snow and skiing all year-long!

Our family has grown over the last few years.  We have three sons and one daughter.  Each of our children put on skis the first winter they could walk.

Robbie at 17 months old.

skis Robbie 1st time

Charlie at 17 months.

Skis Charlie 1st time

Henry at 20 months.

skis Henry 1st time

Nola Mae at 20 months.

skis Nola Mae 1st time

Henry and Nola Mae have gotten the most skiing in their first few years, in-utero, on my back, in a sled behind me and on their own skis.

2011 spring skiing w Henry

skiing w Lynn

I have shared my love of skiing with our children and it brings great pleasure to me when I see that love and joy of skiing in other children and adults.  There are times when our children don’t appreciate the beautiful trails we have access to or the quality family time we are spending on the trails.  We often have ski-derby, snowball fights, tackling and lots of complaining during our family skiing.

skiing Charlie snowball

2011 spring skiing brothers

In the end we have children who exercised, who are worn out and wonderful memories that will last my lifetime and hopefully theirs.

  Skiing four kids

5 responses

I would love to hear what you think, please feel free to leave a comment.

