Winter of Sewing (2013)

Winter of Sewing (2013)

I took this photo on January 7, 2013 with the intention of sewing everything in this pile that week, documenting it and doing a blog post called something like a “Week of Sewing.”  That didn’t happen so it turned into a Winter of Sewing.

sewing projects

Completed projects from this pile:

Black coat on the left – I replaced a zipper on a ski jumper’s coat.

Pink fabric with flower print – a huge pool bag for my sister that fits three kids.

bag for Emily's pool

Green fabric with silver rings – a ring sling for my sister-in-law, BJ, and for a friend’s daughter.  Extra fabric was made into bags for me and BJ.

ring sling green w silver  bag to match ring sling

ring sling and bag

Blue fabric with snow flakes – an apron for a young lady who use to live and ski jump here.

Apron for snow princess

Not in the photo:  a patch job on a friend’s coat.

Not completed:

Top middle – old curtain from a thrift store to be made into a bag.

Purple fabric – maybe will become a skirt.

Brown fabric with “ICE” & “RWV” –  a sword holder designed by Robbie to hold his wooden sword that he received at Christmas time.  It has something to do with his Elemental Warrior game that he plays with his cousins.

Green peppers print – will be a fabric box.

Green and gold fabric – will be made into a star baby or a couple of them.

I am not sure exactly what happened that week.  Could it be the many distractions from my four children, the need to cook and feed my family, laundry and very minimal house cleaning?   Or maybe it was the skiing conditions were great that week and I went cross-country skiing.  Priorities, right?  My sewing will still be there but nobody knew how long the snow was going to last.  I recently wrote a post on my cross-country skiing  (Winter skiing 2013) because it was the best winter for cross-country skiing!

When I got into the mode of sewing and not thinking about skiing I was inspired or distracted, depending how you look at it, by other sewing projects that weren’t in this pile.  I hope to publish a “Upcycled Sewing” blog post soon.

While I was making the ring sling for BJ, I thought Kale, my nephew, could use one too.  I had this cool star print in my stash.

ring sling for Kale

My friend, Kristin, saw Kale’s ring sling and asked me to make one for her three kids.

ring slings for girls

Henry modeling Kristin’s son’s ring sling.

Ring sling for boy

I used BJ’s ring sling for a couple of weeks and fell in love with it.  I never tried one and was never interested in ring slings.  I always thought I needed to have both my hands free to do things and having a baby in a ring sling on my hip or on my front wouldn’t work, even if my hands were free.  Except when you need to run into the store or school quickly while holding a 3 year old’s hand. Or hold your baby while at a family function or event.  Or when you are in a public place and need to nurse the baby to sleep and keep the baby sleeping.  Too many uses to list.

I took these to photos to show that ring sling can be used with a baby and a three-year old, separately of course.  I have a friend who is a babywearing pro and has taught me everything I know.  She has an instructional YouTube video on how to put a newborn into one of these ring slings properly.  It is the best video out there!

ring sling w 10 mo old   ring sling w 3 yr old

I went back to the fabric store and bought more of the green fabric and some of this plum color.  I made this one with black rings for myself.

ring sling plum mine

I have been using a ring sling for three months and Nola Mae is slowly getting heavier.  The ring sling has been comfortable for long periods of time, but lately not so much.  I was having trouble with the shoulder riding up towards my neck.  I believe that is because I made the pleats on the shoulder too narrow.

This week I finished making two more ring slings (another green one and a second plum-colored ring sling) and I ripped out the seams in the shoulder and widened the pleats on mine.  Then I decided to add a pretty design to the tail.

ring sling plum mine new shoulder

Ring sling silver rings for sale ring sling plum w silver for sale

I made a seperate post for my upcycled sewing projects that I worked on this winter.

4 responses

  1. I love my ring sling for all those reasons you just listed. It lives in the back of the truck where I use it for quick errands and all those other things too. I love the pretty pattern on the ends of the ones you made. Mine has a pocket on that end too which I absolutely love, it fits a diaper and a wallet. Diaper, wallet, baby, hand(s) of older siblings, what more do you need?

    • Jessie, I didn’t know you had a ring sling too. I am glad to hear that. They are more amazing than I ever dreamed!
      I made a few editing changes after your read this post. You are fast!

      • My ring sling was one of my first baby carriers. I used it ALL the time with Ivy. I use it less now that I have a pile of options but there are many times when it’s still the best choice!

I would love to hear what you think, please feel free to leave a comment.

