Milk Making Cookies

Milk Making Cookies

These can be eaten by non-lactating people!

IMG_0970

When I was having trouble producing milk for Nola Mae I found this cookie recipe.  I never made them when I “needed” them.  I was too stressed out to do any extra things at the time.   I breastfeed her more often and took fenugreek to increase my milk supply and that worked.

My sister-in-law recently had a baby and I thought it would be fun to give her some of these cookies.  I finally made them!   I forgot the chocolate chips at first so some were made without chips, which my 3-year-old nephew enjoyed.

I made a few changes to the orignal recipe (rearranged the order of the list of ingredients for easier making, added more cinnamon and used peanut butter and coconut oil).  I didn’t add nuts because I rarely cook with nuts and really didn’t know what kind to add.  I thought about chopped garbanzo beans because I have done that before.

What kind of nuts would you add?

Milk Makin’ Cookies
 (http://www.drmomma.org/2010/08/major-milk-makin-lactation-cookies.html)
Ingredients:
1 1/2 c. whole wheat flour
1 t baking soda
3 t cinnamon
1 t salt

3/4 c. peanut butter
1/2 c. coconut oil (or butter)
1/2 c. sugar
1/2 c. brown sugar
2 t vanilla
3 T brewer’s yeast
1 c. ground flax-seed
1/3 c. water + about 2 -3 T

2 large eggs

1 3/4 c. rolled oats

2 c. (12 oz) chocolate chips
1 c. nuts (optional) or maybe chopped garbanzo beans

Directions:
Combine flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt in a bowl.
In a large bowl, beat peanut butter, coconut oil, sugar, brown sugar, vanilla, brewer’s yeast, flax and water until creamy.

Mix in eggs.

Gradually beat in flour mixture. Slowly mix in oats. Mix in nuts and chocolate chips.
Place Tbsp.-sized balls of dough onto greased cookie sheets. Press down each ball lightly with a fork.

Bake 12 minutes at 350F. Allow to cool.

Freeze already made cookies or dough for eating and baking later.

4 responses

  1. Boy, would I have loved this recipe when I was a nursing mom! We lived in rural Connecticut when I had our first two, and we belonged to a natural food coop. I used to put brewers yeast and flaxseed in the bread I made. A little blackstrap molasses, too. Loved those days, Jenny!

  2. Jenny, i love your idea for the cookies! How nice it would have been when my little guy was teeny. I will certainly hold onto it. Consider adding walnuts or pecans in small pieces – but not powdered. Macadamia nuts can be good, but pricey. I find walnuts pair well with recipes calling for cinnamon, and pecans and cashews are great additions to ginger- laden yummys. Enjoy! Rebecca

    On Monday, March 18, 2013, Life with three boys! wrote: > Jenny posted: “Milk Making Cookies When I was having trouble producing milk for Nola Mae I found this cookie recipe. I never made them when I “needed” them. I was too stressed out to do any extra things at the time. I breastfeed her more often and took fenugree” >

I would love to hear what you think, please feel free to leave a comment.

