Week 33 – August 12 – 19, 2012

Week 33 – August 12 – 19, 2012

(completed 9/23/12)

Sunday, August 12th:  For some reason I forgot to include these photos in Week 32’s post.  We picked Robbie up from his sleepover in the morning on our way to Stevens Point.  He was the only boy out of many to get an injury – a banged up knee.

This looks like she is pouting, but really she is trying to copy me doing “raspberries” with my lips.

We met Grandpa Rob in Stevens Point with the bikes.  Henry, Nola Mae and I did the shuttling for their bike trip on the Green Circle trail.  Grandpa Rob, Jack and the two older boys biked 5 miles from one park to another.  Henry was sad that they were leaving without him, so I took him to the south side of the park they were departing.  I loved his excitement when he first spotted them.

Then he ran with them for a little while.

Then they left us.

This is the snake we found at the park in Whiting while waiting for the bikers to meet us for our picnic lunch.  An Eastern Hognose. This gives me the willies looking at it again.  I really do not like snakes.  I asked Jack to try to find out what kind of snake it was.  He found this website .   I was horrified to see the many different kinds of snakes in WI.  Mom, you shouldn’t go to that link!

Monday, August 13th: Veggies picked today.

Tuesday, August 15th:  My worm factory that I got for a Mother’s Day gift is three months old.  I added a second box this month.

 Wednesday, August 15th:  Nola Mae has always been a good baby.   I changed her diaper, then let her hang out on the floor while I did something and noticed she was quiet and this is what I found.

We have been letting the boys sleep in our room this summer.  They have a nest on the floor at the foot of our bed.  When it is hard for them to settle down to fall asleep they (usually Robbie) they are separated and one boy is sent to their room.  Tonight it was Robbie who was sent to a different room.   Robbie wanted a second chance so he must have written this note to Charlie.  I found this paper airplane in my room in the morning.

The paper airplane opened with the full message.

Thursday, August 16th:  I finished making Nola Mae’s baptismal gown.  I copied a few dresses that we had for the design.

Saturday, August 18th:  A progress shot of the kayak.

Sunday, August 19th:  Nola Mae was baptised.  Here are a few photos from this day…

The cake was decorated by my sister, Danna.

After the party, cup stacking contests…

Granny brought lots of sweet corn to share with everyone.  Henry and I worked on freezing the corn after the party.

4 responses

  1. Henry’s joy and enthusiasm–it would be worth millions if you could bottle and sell it! Your photos and notes about your days are priceless. The moments slip away so quickly, but you’ve captured a whole lot to savor later.

  2. Love the photos of the bike trip, what a perfect addition to your story. Did you take the shot of the snake? A very impressive picture, especially considering your feelings about them.

I would love to hear what you think, please feel free to leave a comment.

