Week 29 – July 16 – 22, 2012

Week 29 – July 16 – 22, 2012

Monday, July 16th:  I can’t express how tired I am of spilled milk!  I have been threatening that I am going to charge the boys for their spills of wasted milk and start counting how many spills we have in a week.  I don’t really want to know because I would probably get more irritated.  When they spill they are expected to clean it up themselves.  I had to take a photo of Henry cleaning up his spill by wanting to drink it off the floor.  This is problem solving from a 3-year-old that makes me laugh and scream all at the same time.

Charlie wanted to write a letter to my dad, Grandpa Bob, because he wanted to know if he could play video games at his house when we come to visit.  Charlie wanted to have Nola Mae’s company.

Tuesday, July 17th:  This week I finished making this bag.  This is my purse/diaper bag.  I didn’t use any kind of pattern for it.  The design was inspired by Nola Mae’s baby quilt (not done yet and no photos to share).  I took the dimensions from a free bag that I got from JoAnn Fabrics that I was using until I wore the handles out.  It is huge and I fill it up every time I leave the house.  I never expected to have such a large bag but when I have a baby in cloth diapers, a 3-year-old not fully potty trained, a wrap to carry, snacks for kids and water bottles it fills up quickly!

I am seeing the fun possibilities of having more purple in my life, thanks to Nola Mae.  I bought these fabrics this week with plans to make her some things.

Wednesday, July 18th:  Robbie has been reading and listening to the Harry Potter books.  Today he spent three hours listening to Harry Potter on CD.

I ordered 15 pounds of these Rainer Cherries through my neighbor.  The price was good, at least, better than what they are in the store.  They appeared to be “seconds” and tasted delicious!  I am not sure how long they lasted here, maybe a few days.

Thursday, July 19th:  Nola Mae rolled over from her back to her belly for the first time today at 3 months 11 days old.  How did this time come so fast?  I am not ready for this!

During the last day of swimming lessons the kids get to play – go off the diving board and down the slide.  Robbie surprised me with this dive.  I didn’t know he could do this!

Charlie was entertained by doing twists in the air.

Friday, July 20th:  We love blueberries in muffins, pancakes, yogurt and just plain.  Because I have four kids, I decided that this summer we would skip going to the blueberry patch to pick our own blueberries.  So I cheated and ordered 50 pounds of blueberries from Country Corner Sales in Marion. Pick-your-own at Chet’s Blueberries in Custer was $2.25/lb and I paid $2.53/lb.

I now have 22 quart bags of blueberries in the freezer.

Saturday, July 21st:  Nola Mae rolled over from her back to her belly!  She has also been able to get things to her mouth to chew or suck on.

A pillow case for Robbie’s birthday party gift.

Sunday, July 22nd:  Blackberries are ripe!  I think Helen (Grandma Hanna) might have a photo of Robbie at age two, wearing this same shirt, in this same pose.

4 responses

    • Blueberries are a staple in our house. I don’t know how long this many will last us and I doubt that I will be ready to pick blueberries next year with a one year old and three older boys!

  1. Awesome pics and brings back so many memories and I smiled thru them all. Please keep them coming! They brighten my day and sweep me away into a time I loved the most. Bless you all and enjoy the wonders of the day! 🙂

I would love to hear what you think, please feel free to leave a comment.

