Week 28 – July 9 – 15, 2012

Week 28 – July 9 – 15, 2012

 Monday, July 9th:  It is hard to believe that Nola Mae is already three months old!  And smiling!

Fifty pounds of peaches arrived.  We have been eating these peaches fresh – sliced on a plate with a tiny bit of sugar, on french toast, straight-up peach smoothies, and I have put some sliced peaches in the freezer.

Tuesday, July 10th:  This is what boys build when they aren’t rotting their brain with computer games.

Wednesday, July 11th:  Robbie spins this light saber around like a pro.  I also took a movie of him doing this because I want to remember this forever.  If and when I have time to learn how to put home movies on the computer and then onto my blog, this is one that I would share.

I caught these two brothers cuddling while watching a movie, also a sight that I need to remember during the wild and crazy fighting moments.  They do love each other.  They don’t express it always and rarely how I would like to see the love expressed.

Thursday, July 12th:  Another harvest of garlic.  I had over 200 cloves planted.   I couldn’t dig it up all at one time.

Friday, July 13th:  We went to the Junior Canoe Slalom World Championships in Wausau.   They had a Kids Corner in the shade with a few fun activities.

These girls were from Japan and were really good with our boys.  They were trying to rearrange the rock in this river to make rapids and our boys were moving the rocks or throwing all the ducks in at one time.

They also had little kayaks for kids to sit in.

I was impressed by Henry’s pretend paddling.  I don’t think he has done much paddling in our kayak, today he seemed to know how to move the paddle.

It was a hot day and really too hot to hold or nurse a baby.

After leaving Wausau we headed to Grandma Helen’s.  She has a huge culvert down the road from her house.  The boys have a fun time playing in there, throwing rocks into the creek and admiring the large frogs.  This was the only water in the culvert because it has been so dry.

Charlie’s idea was to walk up the sides into a handstand.

Saturday, July 14th:  We had an Eloranta Family reunion today.  At the very end of the picnic we took this family photo with Jack’s siblings and families (Susie’s George is missing and we got a bonus person – cousin Tyler).

Sunday, July 15th:  The Eloranta family can’t be in the same location for a weekend without having a project to work on.  This weekend’s project was tearing down the milk house on Grandpa Ed’s barn.

Uncle Rick and Aunt Sue were very kind to invite us all over for a picnic lunch and to play in their pool.

2 responses

  1. I am currently writing my PhD thesis which is looking at aspects of debris blockage in culverts and am looking for some photographs to include to add a bit of interest to the intensity of the engineering sections. I really like the picture with the reflection in the water in the culvert and would love to include this photograph in my thesis if you would be happy for me to do so.

I would love to hear what you think, please feel free to leave a comment.

