Week 26 – June 25 – July 1, 2012

Week 26 – June 25 – July 1, 2012

Monday, June 25th:  Nola Mae was weighed today.  Since the last weight, four days ago, and the start of me taking fenugreek she gained 5 ounces!  During these four days I noticed a more active, alert and very happy baby.

Our first handful of blueberries.  I was surprised the blueberries were ready.  Last year on July 12th was when we got our first handful.  Click here for Week 28 in 2011.

Tuesday, June 26th: Henry was having a hard time this morning.  I couldn’t figure out what he needed until I picked him up and hugged him.  He seemed to just want to be held.  I asked him if he wanted to ride on my back.  He was very interested, a rare moment.  I can’t remember when he last wanted to ride on my back!  I put Henry on my back in my Ergo and Nola Mae in my Mei Tai and off we went to do our outside jobs.  This is the best picture I could get in the mirror.

My olive oil order arrived.   As usual the UPS guy drove too fast into our driveway.  One of these times I am going to yell at him or just call his boss!

Wednesday, June 27th:  I was gathering our things for the beach.  I needed to see if this yellow hat fit Nola Mae.  Henry tried it on for her.

Henry’s first dentist visit was this afternoon.  Bad news from the dentist for my little boy who loves everything sweet!  It doesn’t feel good to get yelled at from the dentist.  I kept telling myself there are other kids out there with worse teeth and worse mothers.

On our way home from the dentist we picked up 36 pounds of cherries (six days later they were gone).

I took a photo of Country Corner Sales’ fruit order sheet so I could email it to friends and keep a digital copy for myself.  The other fruit that I have ordered for this summer are blueberries and peaches.

Thursday, June 28th:  Sunset lake – Robbie and Charlie’s first trip to the beach this summer.

Friday, June 29th:  I have been wanting to get our exercise ball out for many, many months.  Finally!

Saturday, June 30th:  Jack has been working on refinishing my/our canoe.  Jack made this canoe for me as a wedding gift.

(photo taken August 2, 1997)

The canoe is refinished and ready for the water.  Once the temps cool down a little I would love to go paddling.

Sunday, July 1st:  I have been encouraging the boys to go out to their fort in the woods to make improvements.  They went out there today and I joined them about 20 minutes later.  One of the things we worked on was making a fire pit.

I made calzones for dinner. Click here for the recipe.

Henry has learned from cooking with Grandma Helen and Granny that he can have his own dough.

10 responses

  1. Jenny as you know I always enjoy your blogs. I’m not going to yell at you like the dentist but I am going to say, “Mother hen you get out their & scold that ups driver.” you have 3 beautiful boys running around & soon a little girl. I take it you probably have a long driveway? Would be nice if he beeps once or twice up the drive to give the kids a warning of a speeding violator! Or you need to get one of those yellow neon guys with the stop sign that says caution drive slow & put it at the end of the drive! I just get a bad sense when I read about him driving fast in your drive. I’ve seen pics. of your kids playing in puddles & brushing their teeth walking down the drive. It’s THEIR playground not his race track. Ok I’m still your friend I just want you & your kids to remain happy, & healthy together as a family.

    • Thanks for the encouragement Stacy. I will call next week! Our driveway is sort of long. I want a gate at the end where the fence is to keep my kids and dogs off the road. Another reason is that I would love to have the gate closed when the UPS guy comes.

      • We have a gate with just enough room for a truck to pull of the road on the other side of it. I think it’s worth any and all hassell that comes with installing and opening and closing it!

      • Our fence was built for a gate to be attached at some point so you could pull in. I will need to work on that, because it could be a good thing on UPS days. He came today and Jack didn’t think he was going very fast. I didn’t get a good look at how fast he was going today.

  2. How many pounds is that when you carry both Henry and Nola Mae? Yeah, for your youth and strength! You need both those attributes to keep up with four lively, bright children these summer days! Our raspberries and blueberries are also ripening. I have to buy some mosquito repellant so that I can pick them. (I second what Stacy says–scold that UPS man.)

  3. Well to begin with Jenny, I would call the UPS office and let them know your concerns about the driver. If he is doing it at your place he is also doing it elsewhere. Love the pictures as usual and enjoy reading about your week with the kids.

  4. So great to visit your blog. Can this be saved for ever and ever so that when your children grow up they can see all about there childhood and their great mom who kept such a gift? Very nice Jenny!

    • Kim, thanks for making a comment and figuring it all out! I assume and hope that this can be saved so that my kids will be able to see this in the future. That was my hope that it will be available. I should check into that to make sure. Because I have put a lot of time and energy into keeping these memories.

I would love to hear what you think, please feel free to leave a comment.

