Week 2 – January 9 – 15, 2012

Week 2 – January 9 – 15, 2012

Monday, January 9:  I made another batch of fruit leather (my 3rd batch this winter) with some of my not so yummy applesauce.  I used some apple butter that I made a couple of years ago, applesauce that has chunks (the boys don’t like the chunks) and other batches where I added strawberries or raspberries.  The raspberry applesauce fruit leather was the best and biggest hit with the boys, my friends and family.

    

 I am working on another bag with a poppy on it with mostly orange colors.  This poppy didn’t turn out so wonderful.  I think the fabric I used stretched a little in the embroidery hoop, so the alignment was wrong, unfortunately I noticed it during the very last thread and many hours later.  I hope that I will have more success and next week there will be a completed photo of the bag.

 

Tuesday, January 10th:  Charlie stayed home from school today because of his cold.  He had a rough night and slept late into the morning.  There were a lot of tears when he realized that Robbie left for school without him.  Charlie and Henry cuddled on the  love seat this morning.

 Henry insisted on helping Charlie let the dogs out this morning.  He was out the door before I realized he wasn’t completely dressed!  At least he put a hat and boots on!

 The two boys got the mail together.

 

I have always wanted to photo of Henry napping on my bed because he looks so sweet and peaceful (and because naptimes don’t last forever).

 

Wednesday, January 11th:  We went for a hike around our property before the snow was expected to arrive.

Thursday, January 12th:  Henry was awake when the boys were headed out to the bus and he wanted to come to the end of the drive way with me.  I wrapped him in a blanket and threw him in the sling that I have.

Henry got this backpack from his cousin, Joey.  He wears it almost every day and tells me that he is going to school.  I frequently catch him packing it with “snacks for the bus” is what he tells me or like today I found him eating his snack that he packed.

 

Friday, January 13th:  The snow came, just a little bit, enough to ski on.  Henry was excited to make his own tracks.

 Done after 15 minutes!  We have a long way to go before I can get him to last half of the blue loop with me.

Java came in the house for a special treat to warm up by the fire.  Henry thinks she wants to listen to him read books to her and that she wants to build barns with him.   I think she likes to eat the crumbs off the floor, drink the toilet water and lay by the fire!

Saturday, January 14th:  Robbie and I spent the weekend together.  Click here to read my post, “My weekend with Robbie.”  

We skied, sewed, read books, went out to eat, watched the Packer game.

 

  

Sunday, January 15th: I have always talked with my friends and other parents about starting kids on skis at a young age.  It is good insurance that you will have a skiing partner for many years. I have always intended to be faster than our boys until they hit the teenage years and I have joked about them chasing me until then. Well, not today! I was chasing this boy all morning.

7 responses

  1. Thanks Susie.

    I liked the corn stalks photo too that is why I included it. I don’t know why I liked it.

    It is funny that you like the crying one. I am glad you don’t think I am a bad mom for taking a photo of my crying child before helping him up.

    Love, Jenny

  2. You are sooooooooooo tallented Jenny! I wouldn’t have a clue how to make fruit leather, and I don’t care if you tell me it’s not that hard! Hahaha 😉 As for your poppy, well it’s looks pretty darn good to me! 🙂
    Poor Charlie 😦 I hope that he is feeling better now, and Henry makes me giggle with his antics! 😀
    Java has the right idea, even if the trade off IS litening to Henry read to him! Hehehe
    Oh and I love that you took a pic of Robbie’s list too and didn’t just type it out. He had an awesome list! 🙂

I would love to hear what you think, please feel free to leave a comment.

