Project 365 Week 50

Project 365 Week 50

Project 365: Take a photo a day and see your life in a whole new way.

12/12/11 (Monday) –  In last week’s post I mentioned that I lost one of the bags that I made.  I did a little bit of cleaning and rearranging to get the house ready for our Christmas tree and found my rooster bag.

12/13/11 (Tuesday) – Last weekend we had our “sign-up” day for the youth ski program that I do at Iola Winter Sports Club on Saturday mornings for kids that are 10 years old and younger.  I was pleased with the numbers of new families that will join us this winter.  In order to outfit the majority of the kids in more modern cross-country ski equipment (and warmer boots) I figured out that 14 pairs of skis with 3-pin bindings needed to be converted to Salomon bindings.  Phil did all the work!  Now, we are waiting for the snow to arrive!

My friend, Kat, came over after our kids were in bed to make a tool belt for her son for Christmas.  This is the first thing she has ever made!

The tool belt is adorable!

12/14/11 (Wednesday) –  Kat and I stayed up too late last night sewing and then visiting.  My day was shot, nothing was done around here except the bare minimum and no photos were taken!

12/15/11 (Thursday) –   I seemed to have forgotten that I am growing a baby in my belly because I am still tired from my late night on Tuesday night.

I did have a little energy to go to school for the boys’ Christmas program, make dinner and test more embroidery designs that I have on my sewing machine.  So I have been turning the “tests” into bags.

   

12/16/11 (Friday) –  I have shared photos of this quilt in progress.  I have titled this quilt “Grandma’s Garden”.  It is getting closer to completion.  I have filled in the spacer squares with flowers that my sewing machine does, pieced it together and put the boarders on the quilt.  The next steps will be deciding on the backing, basting it together, deciding on what quilting design to use and finally quilting it.

A couple of my favorite flowers on the quilt…

12/17/11 (Saturday) – My sister, Kayla, graduated from UW-Oshkosh and is now a Registered Nurse with a full-time job!  She has decided to work in oncology.  I am very proud of her!

I graduated from college 18 years ago this weekend.  My mom gave me my graduation quilt.  It was worth the wait!  Click here to read the story on this quilt.

Quilt Broken Star

 

12/18/11 (Sunday) – Jack spent the afternoon in the garage forging some projects with the older boys.  Charlie and Robbie made fire pokers for themselves.

Robbie’s fire poker is the shorter one and Charlie’s is the longer one.

6 responses

  1. What beautiful quilts both you and your mom make! I like the family photo on the occassion of Kayla’s graduation–a handsome group. The forging looks like a pleasant winter activity, with good results.

  2. The rooster is Beautiful….I can see why you missed it when it was misplaced. The forging is awesome!!! I’m so jealous, I’ve always wanted to do that. Maybe I should talk with Jack about it.

  3. Love the rooster bag, so glad you found it! Your bags and quilts are beautiful with all the extra detail. Thanks for sharing your projects! That’s awesome the boys are learning some very neat skills from Jack.

I would love to hear what you think, please feel free to leave a comment.

