Project 365 Week 48

Project 365 Week 48

Project 365: Take a photo a day and see your life in a whole new way.

11/28/11 (Monday) – Henry has math skills!  He was watching and helping me fry eggs for breakfast.  We counted the three eggs and he told me, “Two eggs for me. One for Mama.”

11/29/11 (Tuesday) – I finished my zipper bag that matches my big sewing bag.

11/30/11 (Wednesday) – Henry and I met my friend Phil at the ski hill to peel potatoes, 100 pounds of potatoes, for Phil’s Lefse Making Party!  I am an experienced potato peeler because I peeled potatoes almost every night after school from 7th to 12th grade.

12/1/11 (Thursday) – I love how my little zipper bag turned out, so I made three more.  I am getting better at this and will try to make more in different sizes.

12/2/11 (Friday) – I met my friend and her son at the Stevens Point Library.   This was my first time in the children’s section.  It was wonderful!

12/3/11 (Saturday) – Jack took all three boys to Aunt Vlasty’s house for her annual St. Nick’s party.  This was the first time all three boys left me at the same time.

I stayed home.  I was gearing up to get a lot of sewing done while the house was quiet.  Guess what I did?  The most unusual things…cleaned the kitchen, swept and mopped, cleaned the living room, vacuumed the stairs, tons of laundry, fed the dogs and took care of the chickens.  I spent about 15 minutes on the computer (very unusual!), baked two pans of apple crisp, prepared a Quinoa and Black Bean Salad and then got ready for the lefse party.  By the time I got everything done I was so tired and my belly muscles were aching, I didn’t go down to my sewing room.  I took it easy at the lefse party, washed a few dishes and sampled all the food that was brought for the potluck meal.

In the morning Jack asked what kind of sewing I did while they were gone.  I told him I didn’t sew. I cleaned instead.  He looked around and said “What did you clean?”  Not because he isn’t an observant and appreciative husband, because the cleaning I did was only that “surface” cleaning that gets messed up once children are present for an hour.

It felt good to have that cleaning done.  I don’t regret spending valuable sewing time to do it.  I kept telling myself there are women out there in this world that sacrifice fun times for a clean house all the time and I am not one of them!

12/4/11 (Sunday) – Aunt Susie took the older boys to a donkey basketball game.  When she arrived the boys hid behind the door waiting to surprise her.

4 responses

  1. I love your little pachwork zipper bags with the decorative stitches–they’re great! Your photos and Susie’s quilt project prompted me to dig out some fabric, and make use of my recently tuned-up sewing machine. I’m having fun (more fun than I really have time for)!

I would love to hear what you think, please feel free to leave a comment.

