The Versatile Blogger Award

The Versatile Blogger Award

I have been given the Versatile Blogger Award twice now.  The first time by my dear blogging friend, Judith at  http://growingyoungereachday.wordpress.com/  At that time (April 2011) I am sorry to say I did nothing about it.  I have my reasons and don’t need to bore you with my excuses!   I was honored but unable to pass the award onto others at the time.

The second time this award was given to me was a few weeks ago by a blogger who I follow closely, Island Traveler at http://consumerjournaldotnet.wordpress.com/.

I am honored again!  I am taking this more seriously and putting a lot of time into accepting this award.

In accepting this award I need to take care of three things.  First, I need to give a huge thank you to the blogger(s) that gave me this award…

Judith, thank you for thinking of me and giving me this award many months ago.  Judith found my blog in the early weeks and has been one of those people who give me lots of encouragement.   Here is a link to one of my favorite posts by Judith:  http://growingyoungereachday.wordpress.com/2011/04/27/you-do-need-friends/

Island Traveler, Mr. B,  thank you for giving me this award and being one of my biggest fans!  I am one of your biggest fans, too!  Here is a link to my favorite post by Island Traveler:  http://consumerjournaldotnet.wordpress.com/2011/07/09/the-magic-robot/

Secondly, I have to tell you seven random things about myself:

1.  I am the oldest of six children – one sister who has a liver disease and lives an amazing life with her three boys, a brother who is an amazing man, husband and father and triplet sisters who are all intelligent, strong and amazing young women who I am proud of more than I can express words.

2.  I am a mother of three amazing boys, who seem to be growing way too fast.  My oldest just turned 8 years old and it seems like yesterday that he was just born!

3.  I miss my two older boys all day while they are at school and get excited as the time get closer to when the bus will arrive.

4.  I take a nap with my 2.5 year old everyday, when possible!

5.  I know I have too many chickens (60+) but can’t part with any of them.  Because we all love them so much!

6.   I love to make firewood.

7.  I have been blogging with my Project 365 focus for over 9 months.  I love it and am addicted to my dashboard, stats pages and clustrmaps!

Thirdly, I pass this award onto a few of my favorite bloggers:

Tammie Jo at http://tammiejoberg.blogspot.com/ and http://onesmalldrop.net/ .  Tammie Jo has always inspired me in my mothering and my faith.  I admire her most for her strength and determination to follow her dreams.  One of the many amazing things Tammie Jo has accomplished is listening to her heart and God and letting Him take her to places all over the world. One of the places where her heart has taken her is the Livingstone Mountains in South Western Tanzania, Africa. Go to the web site for One Small Drop mentioned above.

To learn more about how  One Small Drop accomplishes so many things through their vision “to change the world one person at a time, to educate those with resources to serve those who have needs, to create change of perspective and to change the world through service and education” you can visit http://tammiejoberg.blogspot.com/

Jessie at behindthewillows .  Jessie was one of  the people who inspired me to start blogging.  She is a mother of two young girls, with a 3rd baby arriving in December.  She is an avid reader.  What I love most about her blog is that she writes honest and humorous posts about parenting, her adventures with her children, her farm, and her dogs.  The other cool thing about her blog is that she writes short book reviews of children and adult books that she has read.  One of my favorite post of hers is: http://behindthewillows.wordpress.com/2011/05/22/what-happens-in-may/

Sarah at thinkbigmuch.    Sarah is the other person who inspired me to start blogging.  She a mother of four children and also works outside the home part of the year as a Speech Therapist.  She is one of my favorite bloggers that I follow because of her thought-provoking posts.   We have been hearing for years how to live a more “Green” life and here Sarah has written about how she does it and these posts give you something to think about and encourage you to make some simple changes in your life.   Here are two of my favorite posts:

http://thinkbigmuch.wordpress.com/2010/05/27/on-shrinking-landfills/ and http://thinkbigmuch.wordpress.com/2010/05/26/on-reducing-plastic-waste/

Sigrid at The Joyful Mother  Sigrid’s blog is one that I recently started following.  I also follow her on Facebook, there she posts inspirations sayings or photos about children and/or parenting.  She is a Happiness Coach for the modern mom!  I have loved every post/article she has written.  This is my most recent favorite post by Sigrid:

http://www.thejoyfulmother.com/blog/2011/09/28/6lifelessons/

My success in my blogging adventure hasn’t happened all by itself.  I have had many visitors (friends, family and complete strangers) providing me with encouragement to keep going.  Thank you to all my wonderful readers!

6 responses

  1. Congratulations my friend. Today, we celebrate you as a blogger that inspires people, as a generous person that tries to make a difference in the world and most an a mother to 3 amazing boys. Your adventures with them motivates me to be a better parent. Wishing your family peace , love and happiness. Thank you.

  2. Wow! Thank you so much Jenny. I am so very delighted that you enjoy my blog! I certainly enjoy writing it. Am in love with the ever growing positive mommy blogging movement and am so glad to be included in the Versatile Blogger Award. Very cool. Loved reading about you and the other bloggers you mentioned. Will check them out right now! Much love, Sigrid from The Joyful Mother

  3. Thanks Jenny! I checked out your other favorite bloggers and am now feeling quite humble and extra honored to be included in the group! I’ll have to go do something thinking before I can pass the honor on!
    Jessie

I would love to hear what you think, please feel free to leave a comment.