The Best Smoothie

My best friend, Bethany, from college taught me about smoothies and now I frequently make smoothie for our night-time snack.  I never use a recipe and never keep track of my ingredients.  My standard ingredients are yogurt, milk and bananas. The rest is whatever frozen berries are in the upstairs freezer at the time.

Only a few times the boys did not like a smoothie I made. When a smoothie does flop I freeze it in my ice-cube trays and throw a few cubes into future smoothies.  Or I cut the cubes in thirds and Henry eats them for snacks during the day.   I also do this with any leftover smoothie.

Last night’s smoothie was a huge hit.  I was able to remember or estimate what my amounts were to write this down.
 THE BEST SMOOTHIE

3 bananas (you can also use frozen bananas)

1 cup milk

2 cups of vanilla yogurt

1/2 cup frozen strawberries

1/2 cup frozen raspberries

1 cup frozen blackberries

2 tablespoons of hemp seeds

Blend and serve.  I believe this made about 5 cups (1.25L).

My reviews on this smoothie were the most postive I have heard.   Here is what my critics had to say:

Robbie – This is GREAT!  THE BEST EVER smoothie!

 

Charlie – Mama, you should sell these!

      

Henry – YUMMY!

 

Jack – Very good! ( sorry I didn’t get a photo of his dirty face)

About Hemp seed:  http://www.drbronner.com/pdf/hempnutrition.pdf

Smoothie books that have inspried me (photos taken from amazon.com):

Super Smoothies: 50 Recipes for Health and EnergySuper Smoothies: 50 Recipes for Health and Energy

500 Smoothies & Juices: The Only Smoothie & Juice Compendium You'll Ever Need (500 Cooking (Sellers))500 Smoothies & Juices: The Only Smoothie & Juice
Compendium You’ll Ever Need

Green for LifeGreen for Life

12 responses

    • I saw that in your recent post. Thank you very much for the nomination and the kind words. It may take me some time to reply to this. I like that you only need to nominate 5 other bloggers. I once saw a rule list of 15 bloggers. I don’t follow that many!

  1. Pingback: $5 for Two 16-Ounce Smoothies at Jamba Juice in Orange (Up to $9.20 Value) » Get your daily Groupon deals

  2. Pingback: Four Smoothies or Smoothies, Stuffed Pretzels, and Frozen Yogurt at Pueblo Keva Juice. » Get your daily Groupon deals

  3. Pingback: Project 365 Week 38 | Life with three boys!

  4. Thanks Jenny! What a treat to be called out in your blog! Just to note, my oldest daughter hates smoothies, I think it was because I drank them so much when I was pregnant with her that now I can’t eat them either. So I have modified our reciepe and Maddie, my younger daughter (4 yrs old) loves them.
    We just pour about a cup of hot water (to help defrost the fruit and help me not burn out my blender), any frozen fruit, usually strawberries, blueberries, mango, and bananas, I know that sounds like alot of flavors, but my 4 year old likes to help and that means she gets to dump in 4 different Ingredients.
    You are doing a great job with your blog! My blog has fizzled already,,, but I hope to get back to it soon!
    Miss you!

    • Bethany, thanks for visiting my blog. I am sorry to hear the smoothies aren’t a hit with you and both of your girls. I like the idea of hot water to soften the frozen fruit. I cringe every time I add a too big frozen strawberry. Is it just the fruit? Do you add yogurt too?

      I visited your blog this morning and love the photos you have already. I thought I was a subscriber and would get updates when you posted new things, I am not because there were tons of photos I haven’t seen. Can you help me to subscribe? I was also unable to make any comments. I have no idea what I am doing wrong.

      • Hi Jenny,
        No I don’t use yogurt anymore. Just hot water, fruit, and a little honey. Simple. I have recently tryed a 1 banana, 1/4c peanut butter, 6 ice cubes and 1/2 milk smootie (and a little honey). It is fantastic. the reciepe calls for whip cream on top with mini chocolate chips. the perfect bedtime snack! We love it.

        I haven’t blogged at all lately, I have to get back to it. And as far as how to subscirbe, I will ask some blogger friends to find out and get back to you.

        Congratulations on the pregnacy, I am so happy for you!

        Bethany

  5. Pingback: $9 for Four Fresh-Fruit Smoothies at Keva Juice ($19.56 Value) » Get your daily Groupon deals

  6. Pingback: Your Questions About Yogurt Recipes | Living With Less Money

  7. Bethany, I will need to try that smoothie. Sounds pretty good! Please do find out or just send me an email to check out your blog when you post again. I would love to see more into your life with your girls!

I would love to hear what you think, please feel free to leave a comment.

