Red Smoothies

Red Smoothies

Recently one of my family members told me about a red smoothie she made.  It sounded interesting enough for me to try making one for myself.  I have to say this smoothie has turned out to be one of my favorites.

Please don’t let the ingredients scare you away!

Click here to see my post and recipes on Green Smoothies.

Red Smoothie 1

1 cup of apple juice

1/2 cup of beet juice

1 cup of beets (steamed or shredded raw)

2-3 handfuls of a variety of greens (spinach, beet greens & lambs quarter)

2 bananas

1 cup of strawberries

1/2 cup of blueberries

1 T of honey

Directions:  Place liquids in blender.  Blend beets and greens.  Add fruit and honey last.  Chill the smoothie if you like your drinks cold.  I let mine chill over night in the fridge.  It thickened by morning and I added a couple of ice cubes and shook it.

Red Smoothie 2 (the only difference between these two is the liquid)

1 cup of Coconut Milk

1/2 cups of water or beet juice

1 cup of beets (steamed or shredded raw)

2-3 handfuls of a variety of greens (spinach, beet greens & lambs quarter)

2 bananas

1 cup of strawberries

1/2 cup of blueberries

1 T of honey

Directions:  Place liquids in blender.  Blend beets and greens.  Add fruit and honey last.  Chill the smoothie if you like your drinks cold.  I let mine chill over night in the fridge.  It thickened by morning and I added a couple of ice cubes and shook it.

I would love to hear of other smoothie ideas from my “smoothie drinking friends”!

12 responses

  1. I can honestly say I have never had a beet…NEVER have tried one. I think my mom wasnt a fan of them when I was young and so I never tried. I will try this smoothie and see how it goes.

    • Sarah,
      That is a very interesting book and a way of life that I can not do. When I first started drinking green smoothies I had to stop for awhile. Then I realized how much I like chewing most of my foods. I laughed when I read the part about them needing to do jaw exercises because they were drinking everything they ate.

  2. HI Jenny,
    Your recipe “Red Smoothie” is a very unusual one. I have never tired banana with beetroot or blueberries. I will most definitely have to give this go with my magic bullet. Kudos for the recipe – brilliant. Love to see more. P.s Subscribed to your blog. Keep those smoothies coming. xx 🙂

  3. Hi Jenny,

    Your most welcome! I am totally in love with your smoothies (lol)! I will be buying the ingredients today for your ‘Red Smoothie’ for lunch (I love Sunday shopping).

    Jenny, I have more posts coming very soon and I changed the name of the blog, because I sat down and really thought about what I wanted to blog about. I have added a few more challenges – you can find me here at: https://eatrightforyourbody.wordpress.com – the 90 Raw Food Challenge is still on and I am continuing it, but adding your smoothie recipes to it (I think their fantastic & I hope you don’t mind if I use them and link/ping back to you). Also adding smoothies from various of places too! Keep up the great work and I look forward to hearing more from you.
    P.s – thank you for being wonderful and supportive. 🙂
    In Friendship,
    Ezzy xx

    • Ezzy,

      Thanks for sharing your link. I have a few friends that might enjoy your blog. I will be sure to share it with them. I noticed you changed something with your blog. I wanted to leave a comment and wordpress told me your blog no longer existed. I like your new focus and hope it goes well for you!
      I don’t mind if you pingback to my smoothies. I am sure there are better ones out there. I am flattered!
      I do want a red smoothie report from you once you try it.

  4. Jenny,

    You are most welcome. I am so happy I can share them as I did do your ‘Red Smoothie’. Absolutely delightful! I enjoyed the taste and I think it’s one of my fave’s! Great recipe. Its so easy to make, prepare and so easy to keep going until there’s none left in the jar – I had to make more! Luckily, I had fresh ingredients. The only few things, I did differently is I used raw apples and raw beetroot with a few drops of pure olive oil and raw lemon juice. I like some acidity and sweetness, but the blueberries tip it off like the icing on the cake! LOL. Oh I forgot… I did put the bananas in – delicious! On a hot summers day, I will definitely add crushed ice-cubes (its Winter here). Jenny, you may have bookmarked the old link as I did change it and the name, but the challenges are the same etc. Thank you for liking my ‘new focus’ as I thought I should get it together really workout what I wanted to share to others, however, I think your smoothies are divine regardless of whatever anyone’s says… I have actually tired, drank and reviewed your smoothies – I think their original and classy. Kudos! I would really love you to share my link with others and I very appreciative that you are Jenny. 🙂
    All the best, Ezzy xx

  5. Pingback: Smoothies or Fruit Drinks for Two, Four, or Six at Orange Julius » Get your daily Groupon deals

  6. Pingback: Smoothie Blender | Blenders

  7. Pingback: Beets for High Blood Pressure | Anti Aging Nutrition News

I would love to hear what you think, please feel free to leave a comment.

