Green Smoothies

 

GREEN SMOOTHIES

Smoothie Green

Green smoothies may look unappetizing to some people. When I first saw my frist green smoothie I was very curious about what it was, but didn’t really want to know. Then another friend of mine was drinking one and I got up enough nerve to ask for a taste. It was yummy! Then I asked what was in there.

These are the ingredients to my favorite Green Smoothie:

smoothie ingredients

Apple juice or water, greens, bananas and an apple. 

(Recipe and directions are at the end of this post).

Apple juice or water…

smoothie apple juice

Add greens and blend…

smootie blending

Here is a photo of a “weed” from my garden that I just learned is good for smoothies, lamb’s quarters.

smoothie lamb's quarter

Continue to blend until liquid is smooth looking.

Add fruit and blend until completely blended.

smoothie apples

Green Smoothie

1 cup of apple juice or water.

2-3 handfuls of spinach  or a variety of greens (spinach, beet greens – no stems, lamb’s quarter).

1-2 apples peeled.

1-2 bananas peeled.

Directions:  Add juice or water to blender.  Add greens one handful at a time, blending after each handful.  Once it is smooth add a little bit of fruit while the blender is on.  Yields: 1 quart

Jenny’s notes: I like my Green Smoothies very cold and usually make them at night so they are chilled in the morning.  My other favorite fruit combos are pears and bananas.

Other recipes from the website Green for Life:

Basic Balance
Victoria Boutenko

1 mango
1 cup kale
1 cup water
Yields 1 quart

Victoria’s Favorite Dark Green
Victoria Boutenko

1 bunch dandelion greens
4 Roma tomatoes
3 cups water
Yields 2 quarts

The Laughing Gorilla
Valya Boutenko

½ head romaine lettuce
2 ripe bananas, peeled and frozen
2 oranges, peeled, seeds removed
1 mango
2 cups water
Yields 2 quarts
Warning: consumption of smoothie may
result in spontaneously occurring, extremely
contagious gorilla laughter

Benefits of Green Smoothies:  http://www.incrediblesmoothies.com/green-smoothies/green-smoothie-health-benefits/

Thanks Kat and Jackie for introducing me to Green Smoothies!

15 responses

  1. Pingback: Project 365 Week 28 | Life with three boys!

  2. I never thought of adding greens to a smoothie. I have a VitaMix, and fabulous gadget, better than a blender, so I’m going to make one in it. If you don’t drink the smoothie right away, won’t the banana turn the mixture dark if left overnight?

    • Susan,

      You should go to the green for life website. They have a 3 minute video in fast speed showing many green smoothies made with a VitaMix. I would love to own a VitaMix, so many possiblities with that gadget! The smoothie does look a little darker in the morning and now that you mention it, that is because of the bananas.

      • Okay, I’ll visit that website. I’ve had my VitaMix for probably twenty-five years. It’s the old style stainless steel one, a real beauty. I’ve made bread in it many times, from grinding the wheat berries, to kneading the dough and letting it rise, then plopping it in a bread pan. It does everything but bake it. Wonderful gadget, but yes, it’s expensive.

    • Judith,
      Life has been busy this summer. I hope your winter is going well. I hope you like the green smoothie! I will want to know what you think of it.
      Jenny

  3. Pingback: Breakfast Smoothie Update | Rebel With a Fork Blog

  4. Pingback: Ding Dong: Day 1 of 90 Raw Food Challenge! « 90 Day Raw Food Challenge

  5. Pingback: Munchie Mondays… | The Redneck Princess

  6. Pingback: $4 for a Medium Smoothie with Two Enhancers at Smoothie King (Up to $9.82 Value) » Get your daily Groupon deals

  7. Pingback: Red Smoothies | Life with three boys!

  8. Ha ha. I just recommended the book on your red smoothie post! Must have missed this one! 🙂 do you have pictures of lambsquarter when it’s full grown? Trying to be sure I can ID it. Email me!

  9. Pingback: Munchie Mondays~Banana Smoothie | The Redneck Princess

  10. Pingback: Q&A: Does anyone know of an equivalent blender for vitamix? | Blenders

I would love to hear what you think, please feel free to leave a comment.

