The Plan for Summer

Last week I posted Getting Ready for Summer Vacation (click here to read that post), and I have been doing a lot of thinking and planning since then.

When I worked for Head Start, many years ago, I got tired of my supervisor always saying, “What is your ‘Plan’?” or “What is the ‘Plan’?” or “Here is the ‘Plan’.”  Even though I got tired of that phrase I did learn that it always worked to have “A Plan”.  I have learned to use this method of problem solving in my parenting.

Now, back to THE PLAN for Summer!!

Today is our first day of summer vacation!  Let the fun begin!

I talked to each of the boys and asked them what they wanted us to do this summer this is the list we came up with…

Each day we will try to accomplish:

  1. Practice piano.
  2. Read books.
  3. Play outside.
  4. Keep the kitchen clean.
  5. Get exercise – 30-60 minutes.
  6. Eat healthy snacks.
  7. Henry will take a nap.
  8. Work in the garden.
  9. Pick up dirty socks and dirty clothes.

Each week we will try to accomplish:

  1. Keep up with our daily list.
  2. Write a letter to a family or a friend.
  3. Go to the library.
  4. Go to the beach.
  5. Go hiking with friends.
  6. Go fishing.
  7. Sew.
  8. Make a load of firewood.

Each month we will try to:

  1.  Invite friends over for a fun activity.
  2. Take a weekend trip to visit family.

We haven’t scheduled any dates for our family vacations.  The dates are still being worked out.

Locations we will visit this summer:

  1. Bay Beach – http://baybeach.org/
  2. Pictured Rocks National Park – http://www.nps.gov/piro/index.htm
  3. Liver Life Walk Milwaukee – http://go.liverfoundation.org/site/TR/LiverLifeWalk2011/LiverLifeWalk?pg=entry&fr_id=2490

The boys will continue taking piano lessons through the summer months, attend summer school for two weeks and take swimming lessons for two weeks.

I’m not feeling so frazzled and nervous about our transition into summer now that we have “A Plan” and our first date for meeting friends at the beach day and a play date for Robbie!

Related articles:

http://paulawhidden.wordpress.com/2011/06/03/6-steps-to-a-smooth-summer/

6 responses

  1. Jenny, you have an awesome schedule for yourself and the boys. Hope it works out well. I am one who very seldom ever had a plan – not the organized type when it comes to lifes work. Good Job and Good Luck.

  2. I love your blog Jenny–and esp. your life story (what was the job you had in the early yrs–did miss seeing that?) and the scenes you describe with three boys are hilarious–as I’ve “been there, done that”, with two boys…at least some of the tales are similar. We didn’t have a farm, but we had plenty of dirty socks and spilled milk. We camped a lot, went skiing ( downhill and XC, and many outdoor activities–again, similar t your fam.)
    i have a new website for my freelance writing–and am using WordPress too. My site is all professional. I’d like to start a personal one, that is completely separate. After being downsized from my job in a recession-economy, and having had 4 surgeries last year (and thankfully, recovered), I decided I want flexibility in my life and freelance writing is a good fit right now.

    • Annette,
      Thanks for the comment and kind words. I would love to see your blog. I admire you for have the ability to work on your writing!
      I am glad to hear you are recovered from your surgeries, wow!
      I am not sure what job from the early years you are talking about…when I was first married? It was with Aurora Community Services out of Menomonie. They assist people with disabilities to live in their own homes with what ever level of care they may need. I started out as a caregiver then moved up to a manager/supervisior in my own county. That was a wonderful, challenging, rewarding and also very stressful and painful job.

I would love to hear what you think, please feel free to leave a comment.

