My Favorite Children’s Books

I was going to add this list to My Favorite Books post but that list was getting too long. 

Children’s books deserved their own post.

(these are my favorite books, not necessarily the boys’ favorites)

Children’s books:

All the Places to Love by Patricia Maclachlan – this is a beautiful book recommended to us by our midwife, Jane Peterson.

A Quilt for Baby by Kim Lewis

Miss Rumphius by Barbara Cooney

The Snow Angel by Christine Leeson

Piggies by Audrey Wood

The Napping House by Audrey Wood

Rude Giants by Audrey Wood

The Quiltmaker’s Gift by Jeff Brumbeau

The Shoe Box by Francine Rivers

Mammals and Their Milk by Lucia Anderson ; illustrated by Jennifer Dewey – this link will take you to my library system because Amazon.com’s link was bad.

Daisy Comes Home by Jan Brett

The Mitten by Jan Brett

Our Tree Named Steve by Alan Zweibel – this one chokes me up every time I read it.

The Race of the Birkebeiners by Lise Luhge-Larsen – same with this one, chokes me up!

Favorite Authors: Audrey Wood and Jan Brett – any book written by these two authors I love!

I would love to hear your favorites, your kids’ favorites and who is your favorite author! 

5 responses

  1. AHHH, your killing me! Didn’t I say I had to go read!!!
    Fortunately the only thing better than reading books is comparing favorite books and finding more to read! 🙂

    I LOVE The Quiltmaker’s Gift.

    But my very favorite children’s book is Bear Dance by Chris Riddell it makes me cry, in a good way. http://behindthewillows.wordpress.com/2010/06/28/the-bear-dance-by-chris-riddell/

    Also Chris riddell has books about Ottoline (like Ottoline and the Yellow Cat) that are chapter books with a HUGE amount of drawings. Ivy LOVES them, I love them. They are chapter books that she will request to be read over and over, it’s great… if you’ve got a few hours! It makes me think I need to check out the rest of his books.

    The current kids favorite in the house is Duck Soup by Jackie Urbanovitch (probably spelled that wrong) and mine is the Country Bunny and the Little Gold Shoes.

    We also just got Schnitzel Von Krumm, Dogs Never Climb Trees by Lynley Dodd from the library again.

    And of course then their is Oliva by Ian Falconer and.. and… and…

    gotta go to bed, really, really this time… don’t post anymore while I’m not paying attention!!!

  2. Thanks, Jessie.
    I have put some of these books on hold at our library. I have been searching for chapter books that the boys would like instead of Junie B Jones. Oh, maybe I should include a list of books I don’t like to read – Junie B would be on the top of that list. I won’t it would be too negative! The only reason I read Junie B is because Robbie LOVES those and there are teachable moments in the book when she is so naughty!
    We have read Duck Soup and liked that.
    I hope to do a post on the boys favorites because they are so different from mine.

    • At the top of my list of books I hate to read is Clifford. Hate Clifford, he’s closely followed by the new Curious George books. Don’t tell Ivy that since her most recent library visit Clifford’s been hiding in the library bag!

  3. Fantastic list!! I love that you have somewhat of a ban on certain books. Can’t stand Clifford either! Clifford & Elmo stand out in a crowd but we wish they didn’t!! Miss Rumphius is in our collection & a family favorite as well. The rest of the books are totally unknown to me & I’m so glad you’ve listed them. One thing a child can never have too many of…BOOKS! Looking forward to the next library visit, your list will be in hand. I should be posting another book blog shortly followed by another and another and another after that! LOVE this topic! Thanks so much for your insight 🙂

    • I also love this topic and am thankful you and my cousin Jessie are apart of it. I couldn’t agree with you more there is no such thing as “too many books”!
      I would love to hear more about the books you and your kids enjoy!

I would love to hear what you think, please feel free to leave a comment.

