I am…

I am… (Not Just a Mother)

I love my job as a SAHM, and my interest are driven by that love.

But at the same time, I am able to hold onto many interests, and realize that there are still many things that make me ME, even if most of my focus is still on parenting my children.

I’d like to introduce myself. I’m Jenny. I’m a mom, but I am also many other things:

I am a gardener – I love flowers, apple orchards, raspberry and blueberry patches and vegetable gardens.  I love to grow milo (A.K.A. broom corn) and garlic.  The less lawn to mow the better!

I am a farmer – I should probably say “a-wanna-be-farmer.”  Currently I have a horse and a pet cow named Vanilla and 25 chickens.  I want less cows, but can’t part with my sweet Vanilla, and I want more chickens.  Maybe a steer or two this spring?  I love red meat but can’t buy it from the store!

I am a-wanna-be-soap maker – I have been making soap for over two years.  I completed my ninth batch tonight.  My success rate is 50%, kind of stinks!  I should clarify – 50% success means that the quality of my soaps were good enough for gifts or to be sold.  The other 50% was still usable for us.

I am a quilter – I love making quilts and hand quilting them.  Since I don’t have much time for that right now I sew  things that can be completed during nap-time or in the early evening hours.

I am a runner and cross-country skier – I have completed only two running marathons in my life and five skiing marathons.  I have plans to run every marathon in the state of Wisconsin and some in the bordering states before I die.  My skiing goals are to complete the American Birkie on my classical skis and to travel to Norway to ski the Birkebeinerrennet.

I am a reader – I read every night before going to sleep. I will read most books recommended to me by my friends.  I learned to love reading in my late teens, in my opinion, way too late!   I started a book club twelve years ago that meets every month.  I love my library.  I don’t have to purchase books because I can find just about any book I have ever wanted to read in our library system.  People who say they “don’t read” freak me out. It is as foreign to me as telling me you don’t like chocolate.

I am a grocery shopper – the only kind of shopping I love is for groceries.  When I go to a new town I love to find their local grocery store.  I love stores that sell bulk foods.  I love huge grocery stores and I love little ones.

I am a stockpiler of food and supplies – when something that I always buy is on sale I buy a lot of it (I learned this one from my mom).  Since I live in a small town and don’t get to the store or a larger town very often I make sure I never run out of the main staples for our meals and needs.  I can’t just run to the store for of a gallon of milk, a loaf of bread or toilet paper.

I am a cake decorator – I love to bake and decorate cakes for all occasions.  I love any excuse to decorate a cake even for silly occasions, like an ice fishing weekend with the hubby’s college buddies.

I am organized and my house is always trashed – cleaning is for the birds!

So there, ten things about me that are true, current, and have nothing to do with my children. Sometimes when I feel like all I do is take care of them, I remind myself that I have many things that make me ME.  Things that are true ALL the time.  I’m still ME, no matter what happens, and I don’t have to wait until my children are grown to remember that I still have my own unique personality.

Now that I’ve talked about me, how about you?  Feel free to leave a comment using “I am”, tell me a few things about yourself that have nothing to do with your kids.

7 responses

  1. Jenny, this was the best thing I’ve read all day!

    I am a reader.
    I am a wanna-be farmer.
    I am an athlete.
    I am gardener.
    I am a baker.

    I am no longer wondering why we get along! 🙂

  2. Hey thanks for sharing.
    I am a mother, grandmother, sister, friend and unfortunately a widow.
    I am a writer, an avid reader, a facilitator and a life coach.
    I am a sometimes gardener, a not very good housekeeper, a soup maker (great on cold winter’s days), driver for grandchildren and anyone who needs a lift
    I am a dog lover and have a Tibetan Spaniel as my constant companion, sitting on my feet as I write.

    Love your humor and celebrate you from the other side of the world.

  3. I am in awe of your accomplishment and am thrilled tio think I could something close to this. I am a mother of a 10-month-old litte boy, a chiropractor’s wife, and am starting to see that I am more than those two things. I am a knitter, crochet-er, and have to date completed 2 projects. I am a cross-stitcher and have completed one small angel. I am a stamper of the rubber variety and am trying to make money at it. I am a self-proclaimed great cook and am learning to cook without glueten – way harder than it sounds if you aren’t a fan of eating cardboard. I am a child of the wind, born to live in the mountains, and am serving my pergetory in the desert. I am daily gaining a new appreciation for air conditioning and have stopped looking at the potato pealer as another method of taking off another layer in order to cool off. I am an avid reader and a die-hard fan of the local public library, no matter where I am. I think I may start my own project 365, as soon as I figure out what it is. Thanks for the great idea and the knowledge that it’s ok to have a house that isn’t up to Martha Stewart standards of clean.

  4. Rebecca,
    How did you find me?
    I love your list! You sound like a very interesting person. Do you have a blog now? Yes Yes Yes – there is more fun to be had in this world than cleaning a house. Love, play, have fun and care for your precious son should always be on the top of your list of things to do!
    Thanks for visitng and commenting on my blog!
    Jenny

I would love to hear what you think, please feel free to leave a comment.

