Emergency Room Visit – Robbie

Last week Robbie needed to go the emergency room to get stitches on his hand.

Robbie got off the school bus and went straight to the garden to play with Charlie. Apparently, Charlie was throwing snow balls at him and he wanted a stick so he could hit the snow balls. Robbie grabbed a milo stalk (a.k.a. broom corn), broke it and then pulled on it to detach it from the rest of the stalk.   The stalk sliced the skin in between his forefinger and thumb.   He told me pulling on it worked but then he realized his hand hurt, then he looked at it and saw A LOT of blood and that is when he started running for the house.

I was in the house waiting for Robbie and Charlie to come in after getting off the bus. (I watch them periodically through the windows while I am making dinner or trying to get my last-minute jobs done before they finally reach the house.)  I saw Robbie sprinting to the house. I didn’t think much of his sprinting to the house today.  The day before he was playing in the haymow and I saw him sprinting to the house because he had to go to the bathroom. It wasn’t until he was closer that I could see the expression on his face wasn’t “I’m pooping my pants!” It was more like “I’M HURT!”  That is when I noticed his bloody hand.

We washed it and put pressure on it. I peaked at it and it was REALLY BAD! I used my Screamfree Parenting techniques  and stayed very calm. I got him comfortable on the couch and made phone calls to Jack, Marlene (our neighbor) and the clinic. Since it was close to the end of the day there were no openings in the clinic so we had to go the ER.  Jack was able to leave work early, but it was going to take him a long time to get home because of the fog. I didn’t want to wait because Robbie was in a lot of pain.  Thankfully, Marlene was able to come over and stay with Charlie and Henry.

Seven stitches.

Robbie in the garden by the milo with bandage on his hand.

The stalk that cut his hand.

Milo in August.

I learned while working for Aurora Community Services NEVER to go to the hospital or ER without a book and snacks.  Because you never know how long you will wait.  Our wait wasn’t too long.   The books were a great distraction in the waiting room  and during the time the stitches were being put in.  I just happened to have one of Robbie’s favorite books along, Souper Chicken by Mary Jane Auch.    I read that book many times!

The nurse, Susan, was wonderful!  So was the doctor.  Susan told Robbie that he did an awesome job and she has seen many adults who couldn’t handle that kind of situation as well as he did.  I think that compliment really stuck with him because he talked about that a few more times that night and the next day.

Before leaving our room Robbie left this note.  Later he told me it was supposed to be for the nurse.

I feel fortunate that this is only his second visit to the ER.  Because Robbie told me just days before this incident, “I look for dangerous things.”

The first ER visit was when he was almost 4 years old.  He got bit by this bat that was stuck in a burdock plant behind our garage.

3 responses

  1. Jenny, I love reading these stories of yours cause they bring back so many memories of when the kids were little and the situations I had to deal with. When you have active kids you have to be prepared to deal with incidents such as you have and are experiencing now. I personally hate ER rooms, but I know that at times they are the answer for the problem you are dealing with. I hope Robbie’s hand heals well and he will forever have that scar to remember the incident by. Sounds like he handled it very well.

    Love, Aunt Anita

  2. Jenny,
    Please don’t hesitate to call anytime you need help. I am more then happy to come over any time. You guys are great neighbors and great friends with three very interesting and delightful boys.

    Glad I could help,
    Marlene

I would love to hear what you think, please feel free to leave a comment.

