Books!

After school tonight Robbie rushed in the house to get his snow pants on so he could play in the fresh snow. I quickly grabbed my after school kiss and hug.  I asked him how much homework he has…

Robbie:  Book Buddies (with his thumbs down).  Book Buddies are four books that he keeps at home all week to read every night.

Mama:  You know how smart your Papa is.  He loved to read when he was little.  You get smart from reading!

Charlie: I bet his Papa showed him how to use the computer.

Mama: There weren’t computers in people’s houses when Papa was little.

Robbie: How did they look up stuff?

Mama: BOOKS!!!!!!

12 responses

    • Thank you for finding my blog post. How did you find it? I checked out your website. It is very interesting. Where are most of your subscribers from and what is the average age? Good luck!

      I hope that my way of explaining this is interesting in a good way! This is just one of many discussions about the importance of books that I have had with my kids. I just started this blog and will start documenting any funny or cute conversations we have in addition to my Project 365 theme.

      I agree books are true friends. We have hundreds and hundreds of books in our house. We read to our kids all the time.

      I have always referred to my kids as magnets to books. They could be very involved in playing and once a book is picked up and I start reading they are in my lap within a minute.

      I learned to love to read when I was a teenager. I hope that my kids will learn at a younger age.

      Thanks again for posting a comment!
      Jenny

  1. Isn’t it something how little ones are so innocent that they can’t comprehend anything different at this time other than what they know. It always amazes me when we go into antique stores and looking at the things from when we were kids and where we are now. Can you imagine what these little ones will be marveling at in the years to come.

  2. Jenny, Thanks for your quick thinking answer to Robbie. His reading comments have saddened me (and maybe all of the librarian relatives). Books let me travel the world as I grew up in a family that did not take vacations. My daughters did not become readers until they were out of school and in charge of their own schedules and choices.
    Barbara

    • Barbara,
      I am sorry you have heard some of his comments. I think it is just a stage he is going through. He would perfer to get a toy as a gift rather than a book, which is typical. He loves books and being read to. I believe his struggles and frustrations with reading right now is because he is just learning and there are other things going on in our house when he is reading (charlie is messing around, Henry is crawling all over us or getting into something, just to name a couple).
      I know they will be good readers and learn to love it. I am surprised to hear that about your girls. I assumed they were readers all along.
      I learned to love books when I was a teenager, way too late in my opinion. I see Ed’s kids and know there is hope for mine.

  3. My son Jack was/is a reluctant reader. He can read well, but he would usually rather play with his trains or legos rather than read. Part of it was just being a boy and not being able to sit or focus too long sometimes. But really I think it was because he just hadn’t found any books that really captured his interest.
    When he was in the second or third grade I finally found a series of books at his reading level that really keyed in on his favorite interest areas, and he really took to those! Now he’s at an age where there’s a lot more interesting reading material available, and that’s been a big help too. He’s just started “Harry Potter & the Goblet of Fire.” It is sooooo long (over 800 pages!), but he wants to read it because he’s enjoyed the first three books so much. Since book #3 took about 4 months to read, I’m guessing he’ll still be reading this one come summer, but at least he will still be reading. 🙂
    Hang in there, Jenny! Once Robbie’s at a reading level where the more interesting books are available, I’m sure he’ll take to it like a duck to water. Also, don’t forget about children’s non-fiction books. Jack loved getting n/f books about the things he was interested in. A lot of the time I know he was only looking at the pictures and maybe reading the captions, but it was still a positive experience with a book, and that counts too!

  4. Thanks Meredith! You seem to always understand my struggles with boys and I feel encouraged by your wisdom. I know he loves books and it is learning to read and sitting still while his brain is working hard is difficult for him.

  5. Jenny, your boys will be readers! The most important thing is that they see Mama and Papa reading. My boys were slow to read on their own (Em was always a voracious reader) mostly because it was harder to find books that interested them. Even magazines help, I noticed Tom always grabbed the Sports Illustrated (and NOT the swimsuit issue!) and headed off to read it. Jack read all the ‘Little House on the Prairie’ books to them when they were little. They loved those.

I would love to hear what you think, please feel free to leave a comment.

