Happy Birthday, Nola Mae! – Two-Years Old

Happy Birthday, Nola Mae! - Two-Years Old

Two years ago you started out as the biggest surprise of my life. When you were a few minutes old I still thought you were my fourth son. I saw your little bottom and thought, “Where is the penis?”  Still, thinking you were my fourth boy.  My midwife, Jane, asked “Jenny, Do you know?” Reality hit me and  I said, “Yes, but I don’t believe it.” Everyone else in the room knew you were a girl before I did.

Nola Mae new

3 generations with Nola Mae copy

 

Other surprises you have given me in your first year of life:

You can be so easy-going, not mind meals being interrupted by older brothers, and not put up a fuss when there isn’t any milk, and you were a baby that loved to sleep.

You learned quickly how to go up and down the stairs with very little practice and guidance.

You were happy and smiling 99% of your first year of life.

You loved to be held, wrapped, and carried.

wrap Light Rainbow  Nola Mae snow

You were a mama’s girl and would be a papa’s girl once Papa came home – diving into your papa’s arms when he would walk in the door.

Jack & Nola Mae

You adored your big brothers.

Charlie reading to Nola Mae

You were more adventurous and more of a climber than Henry.

In your second year of life your personality is shining:

You are fast.

You are strong.

You are smart and absorb everything around you.

You love to be high up.

keller lake Nola Mae climbing

You love to cross-country ski.

Ski Henry pulls Nola Mae

You love to be outside.

You love to play with cars and just started playing with babies.

You make “motor” sounds with your mouth.

You like to wear your babies on your back, “wrap”.

wrap scarf grass

You like to breastfeed your babies, “milkies”.

You just started to love taking a bath.

You can get yourself dressed and have preferences of what you want to wear.

You still love to be held, wrapped, and carried.

You love to sleep next to someone during every sleeping moment.

Henry & Nola Mae napping

You still adore your brothers and show great love and affection – my favorite thing is when you are on my lap and Henry comes to give us a hug you make sure to kiss him and pat his back.

hugs

You miss the boys and Papa when they are at school/work and often mention them.

Kitchen stool Nola Mae w Robbie

You love to color on your skin with markers more than on paper.

Marker head

You love to read and look at books.

Nola Mae book

I love it when you want to do something yourself, you say “self” or “SELF!!!!!”

My favorite thing you copy what I do is when I yell “I love you!” out the door to the boys when they are walking to the bus. You say, “love you!”

My favorite word  you say  is “Zata” for pizza.

You are constantly saying multiple words to tell me something and that started just the week before your birthday.  Your vocabulary is growing so quickly I can hardly keep track.

I am looking forward to seeing what other surprises you have for us in your little heart and head.  I know there is a lot of beauty inside you and I wish there was a magic potion I could rub on your head to help you see that you are going to grow up to be a smart and loving person who is glowing with beauty from the inside out.

Happy birthday, Nola Mae!

Nola Mae 2nd birthday

8 responses

  1. Jenny, these last 2 posts with Henry & Nola Mae’s birthdays have been so heart-warming and brought tears to my eyes. It’s so fun to watch them “grow up” through your pictures and blog. You also inspire me with the natural, home-made, home-grown things you and your family do. You should be proud of your efforts every day!

  2. Wow, what a wonderful collection of photos and records of Nola Mae’s second year! It would be difficult to pick a favorite from among that great collection, but I especially love the one of Henry and Nola Mae sleeping, with Henry’s arm wrapped around his little sister . . and Nola Mae carrying her baby in a wrap . . . and Henry helping Nola Mae down from the snow bank . . and Henry towing Nola Mae at the ski hill . . . and Nola Mae in the blue knit dress, and . . . every other photo in your post! This grandma is so happy to see your photos and read your posts, so that I can almost feel as if we live next door. Happy Second Birthday, Nola Mae!

  3. I love hearing all these things about your kids :) you can really feel the love in your words. Nola Mae is going to grow up to be one awesome girl with a mom like you!!
    Happy Birthday Nola Mae!!! Xoxo

I would love to hear what you think, please feel free to leave a comment.

